Our Mission

Family Service of Roanoke Valley supports individuals and families as they journey toward lives of emotional wellness, healthy relationships, and a future filled with hope.

Our Vision

A resilient and healthy community where individuals are filled with hope.

FSRV Values

  • FAIRNESS-free from bias and/or injustice
  • SAFETY-not causing physical, physchologial, emotional, or moral injury, danger, or loss.
  • RESPECT-acknowledgement of another’s value.
  • VITALITY-capacity for meaningful and purposeful existence and sustainability.

Leadership Team

Linda Hentschel, President and CEO 540-795-4670

Sarah McConchie, CPA, Chief Financial Officer540-795-4672

Jill Sluss, Chief Development Officer 540-795-4671

Jamie Starkey, MSW, Chief Program Officer 540-795-4652

Sarah Harig, LPC, Registered Play Therapist, Clinical Program Manager 540-795-4699

Pam Adams, MEd., Guardianship Program Manager 540-795-4651

Rhianna Price, QMHP-C, Youth Development Program Administrator 540-795-4672

Megan Alpine, Youth Development Coordinator 540-795-4685

Mandi Gray, MS, Resident in Counseling, Coordinator of Mental Health Services 540-795-4646

Meet Our Counselors

Family Service is a member of the Alliance for Strong Families and Communities and the Family Service Council of Virginia. Agency services are accredited by the Council on Accreditation (COA). Click here to meet the Counselors of Family Service of Roanoke Valley. Our caring professionals are available to provide traditional and/or innovative approaches to meet your needs. Specialties include play therapy, group therapy and more. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Board Officers 2021-2022

Dr. Hal Irvin, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at Virginia Tech Carilion, Chair and Executive Committee Chair

John Frederick, The Branch Group, Chair Elect

TBD, First Vice Chair

Dave Prosser, Freedom First Credit Union, Treasurer and Finance Committee Chair

Nadia Summo, Foot Levelers, Secretary

Donna Littlepage,Carilion Clinic,, Chair and Immediate Past Chair and Executive Finance Committee

Board Members

Sarah Baker, Ferguson Enterprises,

Dr. Azziza Bankole, Carilion Clinic,

Matthew Barr, Carilion Clinic,

Greg Brock, Firefli,

Kandy Elliott, MKB Realtors,

Cherie Grisso, Richfield Living, Audit Committee Chair

Diane Kelly, Retired Mental Health Executive,

Todd Leeson, Gentry Locke Attorneys,

Dr. Tara Mitchell, Carilion Children’s Pediatric Behavioral Health,

William Nelms, Spectrum Media Solutions,

Patience O’Brien, Member One Federal Credit Union,

Jill Pendleton, Former Educator,

The Honorable Stephanie Moon Reynolds, Council Member, Roanoke City Council,

Honorary Lifetime Board Members

Sara Airheart

C.T. (Butch) Meredith
Interested in joining the Family Service Board of Directors? Please contact our President/CEO, Linda Hentschel: lhentschel@nullfsrv.org or 540-795-4671. [/one_third_last]

Our History

Family Service was the first human service agency in the Roanoke City and has served the community since 1901. To learn more about the history of our organization, click here.